Top Ten Tuesday

I love lists (as demonstrated by my last blog 365lists that comprised of me making lists of things, increasing by one each day). Lists mean that things are categorized and all in one place which means they’re easy to find. Can you tell I’m a little bit (over) organised? I make lists of everything – movies I’ve seen this year, books to read (this is always increasing), things to do on that day.

somuchtodotakeanap
To make a list, items on that list are (somehow) related. Whether it be by colour, letter, size, shape or where they’re found, the items are linked in one way or another. This brings me to this weeks Top Ten Tuesday meme, hosted by the Broke and the Bookish

tttThis weeks list:
Top Ten Books If You Like X tv show/movie/comic/play:
Top Ten Books if you liked 50/50 (movie):
tfios mysisterskeeper thisstarwontgoout 

1. The Fault in Our Stars (John Green) 
This story also centres around people with cancer and it makes sure it focuses on the people, rather than the disease. John Green has a way with words – definitely recommend this!
2. My Sister’s Keeper (Jodi Picoult)
Once again, another cancer read and also, once again, it doesn’t focus on the actual cancer, but a problem stemming from the cancer (not what you might think). There’s also a movie and I liked the book more (different endings) and I would like to know what people thought of the alternate ending? Which did you like better?
3. This Star Won’t Go Out (Esther Earl’s (Auto)Biography)
Esther Earl is who Fault is dedicated to. She’s a young girl who passed away from cancer at the age of 16 and the book includes diary entries, her stories, poems, her parents comments and an introduction by John Green. Very very sad, but very very good.

tombreannastarfishsistersperskwillgraysonwillgrayson
13reasonswhy ketchupclouds millionlittepieces
4. The Story of Tom Brennan (J.C. Burke)
5.  Starfish Sisters (J.C. Burke)
6. The Perks of Being A Wallflower (Stephen Chobsky)
7. Will Grayson, Will Grayson (John Green) 

8. Thirteen Reasons Why (Jay Asher)
9. A Million Little Pieces (James Frey)
10. Ketchup Clouds (Annabel Pitcher)
These novels all involve, like the film, some sort of struggle. Whether the struggle be internal or external, almost every one of these characters, like Adam from 50/50, had something going on in their lives. For some, it’s just about fitting in, and for others, it’s about recovering from very extreme physical injuries.  While their problems may not be sickness [like cancer], they still have adverse affects on the character. These are the sort of books, even though you haven’t had the actual problem/struggle yourself, you can identify with it. I recommend all of these novels, especially Will Grayson, Will Grayson, Perks [of being a wallflower] and The Story of Tom Brennan. Fair warning, though, A Million Little Pieces is verrrrrrrry long!

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday

  1. KarolinasBR says:

    I haven’t watched the movie nor have I read any of the books yet, but Thirteen Reasons Why surely looks intriguing! I have vouched to never read The Fault In Our Stars, though. 🙂

  2. KarolinasBR says:

    I haven’t watched the movie nor have I read any of the books yet, but Thirteen Reasons Why surely looks intriguing! I have vouched to never read The Fault In Our Stars, though. 🙂

    • I really enjoyed the book, don’t get me wrong, but I think that I had such high expectations going in, I didn’t enjoy it fully. Why not? 😦

      • KarolinasBR says:

        This might sound harsh, but I believe bullying is being overdramatized in the US. How come no-where else in this world (well, at least in many European countries I have contacts in) bullying (even though it exists to some extent – always did, always did) is considered a big issue?

        I remember being bullied a a child, a lot. I had glasses, was a total nerd, had very few friends… I had to listen to my fair share of insults. Yet, what I was taught was to stand up for myself, to deal with my problems and move on, to not let them get to me.

        I don’t see this in the American pop culture. Everybody I know considers bullying such a big evil. Yet, what I think most people don’t understand is that bullying is a mentality problem and it is up to us to overcome it.

        Firstly, if you don’t let people bully you, you won’t be bullied. It is us who allow others to bully us. There are always measures to be taken. A bully won’t attack you if he knows you won’t crumble under his attack (well, most of the time).

        Secondly, why would it ever cross anyone’s mind to bully someone else, if they were taught that bullying is something bad? For some reason it is acceptable to bully. Because the US is the land of the free etc. etc. I have had this discussion many times with my American Constitutional Law Professor, who has brought very interesting points forward. I’m not going to analyze them here, though, ’cause it would take forever 😉

        I am not one to disregard or belittle people who committed suicide due to bullying. I am just saying that I don’t understand how it is possible that in the US this is a day to day occurrence, when there are so many things that can be done to stop/prevent it.

        So, I guess what I am trying to say is that I don’t feel like reading a book where bullying is considered a major challenge in someone’s life. Everybody has been bullied at some point in their life. People just need to get over it and rather than ponder those bad memories do something to chance society so this “evil” doesn’t occur anymore.

        Sorry for the mile long rant 😉

  3. Nah, all good, I love it when people get passionate about something 🙂

    I see where you’re coming from, and to an extent I agree with you. I think also, because the US is so big in much of the media seen/read/heard nowadays, it cops a lot of the blame. If, say Australia, was very relevant in the media, there would be focus on their bad points. (Okay, that point really wasn’t well explained, but hopefully you get the gist).

    With your point about ‘there are so many things that can be done to prevent it’ YES!! Sometimes I just get so angry/annoyed at people who sit back & do nothing when there is SO MUCH TO DOING TO PREVENT BULLYING (and other bad things in the world). I understand that (of course) not everything can be fixed but there are many things THAT CAN and it’s time to actually do something about that.

    But I think Fault is so much more than that. It’s not a novel about a girl who is bullied and belittled. It’s about a young person who is living life and she just happens to have this horrible thing called cancer. The way it’s told; she kinda just gets on with her life (as you have to do when something shitty happens).

    Have you read any of his other books? If yes, what did you think? If no, would you?

    • KarolinasBR says:

      Nope, I haven’t read any of his other books, yet. You know, busy uni student and all that 😉 Though, my sister says Looking for Alaska is supposed to be an interesting read. And, sure I would! 🙂

Leave a Reply

