Top Ten Tuesday

I love art. Like writing, it’s another form of self-expression and THERE’S SO MANY WAYS TO DO IT. Drawing (which of course can be broken into the materials that can be used: pencils, coloured pencils, charcoal, marker etc), painting (oils, acrylic etc), ceramic (mosaic, clay), sculpture (mixed media: e.g. wire, tyvek, plaster, papier mache etc). SO MANY WAYS!!

ART

So of course, image my excitement when I found out that this Top Ten Tuesday meme (hosted by (awesome) blog The Broke and The Bookish) was Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art (!!!!) I had a mini party with myself and then had to actually buckle down and try and decide which book covers I’d pick.

ttt

SO MUCH CHOICE!!

Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art:
lookingforalaska peregerines persk

1. Looking for Alaska (John Green)
Look how simple and effective and beautiful this cover is! The colours fit with the book perfectly and it’s almost a muted palette, but then the red brings it up WHICH IS PERFECT. (Why can’t I print gifs yet???)
2. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
I love vintage things because they tell a story (quite literally in this case) of the past and black and white – YES!! I love black and white photos, pictures etc because it’s so simply stunning: just really balanced.
3. The perks of being a wallflower (Stephen Chobsky)
Words, words, words!! Covers with letters and words are a++ because it combines two of my favourite things: words and art!! I’ve often done artworks where I’ve written words a background or as the actual picture and once again, simple concept, but SO EFFECTIVE.
kindafunnystoryeggscuriousincident
4. It’s kind of a funny story (Ned Vizzini)
Simple and effective (sensing a theme here?) But the neutral colour of the background really makes the coloured squares pop it fits so perfectly. It’s a cover open for interpretation and I think after I’ve finished the book, what I think the cover represents will be different from now.
5. Eggs (Jerry Spinelli)
There is food on the cover (it’s already 12/10). No, but seriously, it’s the simplicity that makes this so good. It’s literally a box of eggs on a picnic table with the author’s name in the lid. Someone could go and do that right on on Photoshop (or even word). It reminds me of this thing about modern art:

modernart

6. The curious incident of the dog in the nighttime (Mark Haddon)
We studied this book as one of our setworks in year 9 (I think). The colours really work because they complement each other really well and the cover isn’t too over the top, nor is it boring and muted. There’a a lot of line (and implied line) and I think the shape of the dog in the middle breaks this up really well.
stolen mysteriousbenedictsociety impossibleknifeofmemory

7. Stolen (Lucy Christopher)
In this one, I really like the font used. I’m a huge fan of typography (hence my topic for my unit 3/4 studio arts) and I think this font just suits the the cover so well. I read this book ages ago, so I don’t remember the significance of the butterfly (or even if there was any reason it was there?), but it works because of it’s contrast to the background, in both the colour and the solidity of the shape. It’s also a really well balanced cover, with two bits being orange, two bits being white and the rest black.
8. The Mysterious Benedict Society (Trenton Lee Stewart)
LOOK AT THAT DETAIL AND it’s a fictional castle, but can’t you almost image it sitting somewhere on a tall hill, with the chimney puffing out smoke that makes shapes? Because I can!! I read this book like 4 or 5 years ago, but the castle is exactly how I imagined it in the book and the kids are there and OH!! It’s just so perfect.
9. The impossible knife of memory (Laurie Halse Anderson)
The different shades of blue are cold and uninviting in a good way. The blues on the cover complement each other so perfectly and kind of promote that the book will have a cold theme (not literally, though). This is the only book on this list I haven’t read, so what I’m saying might be completely wrong… 
eleanor+park

10. Eleanor and Park (Rainbow Rowell)
I haven’t even seen this cover before BUT IT’S SO… WOW! Not too much detail, but enough to make the cover just beautiful. I really like the way the people were drawn and that the background is a neutral colour so the drawings of Eleanor and Park stand out. The incorporation of the name and the labels work out really well and once again, I LOVE THE FONT!

What books do you guys want to put in a frame on your wall?

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday

  1. It would certainly be cool to have a digital photo frame for Alaska (though I fear one might get confused with actual burning fumes…I know I would).

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  2. caitlinstern says:

    I forgot about Eleanor & Park. I loved the book, and the cover is beautiful, too.

  3. Cait says:

    Oh gosh, I didn’t even know Eggs existed! (The book, not um, the literally chicken-laying-ovals-of-yokey-perfection.) I LOVE Jerry Spinelli, so yay! A new book for me to check out. 😉 I also looooove book covers that are gifs. It’s super creative! x)
    Thanks for stopping by @ Notebook Sisters!

  4. LOVE the Looking For Alaska gif! Awesome. And the cover for Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was actually what made me want to read that novel in the first place. 😉

  5. Pingback: We’re All Mad Here | strawberrydrapes

Leave a Reply

