Top Ten Tuesday (4)

CLICHE ALERT. I REPEAT, CLICHE ALERT!

I am one of those people who say ‘the first scene/sentence/chapter (at the most) has to grab my attention’, otherwise goodbye book, hello another book. (So, that wasn’t as smooth as I thought it would be).

tripping

I use the first bit of a novel to get a feel for the book, because I think it makes a good indicator of how the rest is going to be written. Of course, there are some exceptions to the rule and books are ALWAYS relative/subjective to people’s opinions (which what makes reading so fun – you get to see what other people think!) Sometimes the books beginning doesn’t do the book justice, which brings me to this weeks Top Ten Tuesday, brought to me (and other people on the internet) by The Broke and The Bookish.

 Ten Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t
1. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs). 

This book has been around A LOT in my blog posts and here it is, once again. I think the beginning was a bit boring, but once *SPOILER SPOILER* Jacob travels back in time, things got a whole lot more interesting. *end spoiler*
2. It’s kind of a funny story (Ned Vizzini)
Maybe it’s because I had such high expectations for this novel, because of all the brilliant reviews, but I didn’t think it was all that good UNTIL I got further in. As I progressed, Craig began to find his voice, which made for a) beautiful writing and b) entertaining + beautiful reading.
3. To kill a Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
(Shh, don’t tell my teachers I liked this). We had to read this for school last year and don’t get me wrong, I still absolutely detest the first part. Unfortunately, I had to slog through that to get to the good bit of the second half. I just think the first half was WAAAAY too detailed (and I love detail) – it was too many small, little, unnecessary words! The second half was beautifully written and I feel like I could (almost) relate to Tom Robinson BECAUSE it was so well written!! (But I did have to restart the book approx. four times to finally power through till the end).
4. Starfish Sisters (J.C. Burke)
This one I did actually put down, but then picked it back up again after listening to the audio tape. I used to have this thing with multiple point perspective (MPP) books, because I always got mixed up between characters and who was doing what and who was doing who(m?). But since that, I’ve figured out, if I just read that little bit further, the characters and their actions become clearer. This was quite hard for the Starfish Sisters because they’re all girls, they’re all at this surfing camp and they are bunking together. But the audio tape made it easier because they had different voices (and they might’ve said their names before they spoke; like the name of the chapter).

dogwalkingdog

Unfortunately, this marks the end of the lists. Most of the time, I (mostly) either love a book or then don’t like it and (very rarely) put it down. But most of the time I HAVE to finish the book, even if I really don’t like it. It’s like reading fanfiction – somewhre into the second chapter, I’ll say to myself ‘oh, this is really shitty’, but I’ll continue reading anyway and then I’ll finish 50 chapters later and it was still shit. Sometimes, I start a book multiple times before I even finish it (see To Kill A Mockingbird and I reckon it’s going to be the same case for 1984 (also for school) because at the moment my current restarting tally = 2).

What books did you almost put down but didn’t in the end?

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday (4)

  1. caitlinstern says:

    I’ve seen many different views on whether or not someone puts down a book–and how much of a chance they give it before they make that decision. I agree, there’s no sense wasting time with a book that’s not for you–so many other books out there!

Leave a Reply

