We’re All Mad Here

cheshirecat

 

I have come out of my mid-week-blog-post cave to join in with this (irresistible) bog tag as created by The Notebook Sisters . This week is their 3 year bloggerversary and they HAVE A TAG PEOPLE. A tag! (If you didn’t know, I enjoy tags. Mainly because I enjoy answering questions, but also because… well mostly because there’s questions).

aliceteaparty

1. Just Alice: What book cover(s) has made you super curious?
Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children (Check my post about pretty covers from my TTT a couple of weeks ago). The Unsplintered series of book covers (which I have never read) have made me insanely curious (also because everyone seems to be talking/reading/blogging about them).  
2. Mad Hatter: List the craziest character(s) you’ve ever read.
Crazy as in psycho crazy or crazy literally? Well, for A, I’d go with Alice from Rebecca James’ novel Beautiful Malice. For the second option, I think I’d go with Craig from It’s Kind Of A Funny Story and also Charlie from The Perks of Being A Wallflower. I loved both of them and I also love love love how their mental illness was a main topic in the book (not glorifying MI, but I think they’re both written with such oomph and integrity and just love)!! Of course, there’s also the characters from J.K. Rowling’s amazing mind: Professor Trelawney and Dumbledore. 
3. Red Queen, Off With Your Head! What book have you felt like beheading?
I’ll go with 1984 (George Orwell) and To Kill A Mockingbird (only the first part though). As you can see, I’m not a huge fan of the classics… Oh and also the ending of Allegiant (Veronica Roth), BUT I did enjoy the rest of the book (just to make that clear). 
4. White Rabbit: What books or series have been insanely popular but you’ve been “late” to pick them up?
– The Book Thief (Markus Zusak): still getting onto this actually
– The Fault In Our Stars (John Green). I mean, I wasn’t super late and I’ve still managed to read the book a couple of times, but I was a little bit behind everyone else.
5. Caterpillar: What’s the most confusing book you’ve read?
The Messanger (Markus Zusak), The Thief Lord (Cornelia Funke) and the beginning of The One and Only Jack Chant (Rosie Borella). Most of the time I push through with the books (as I’ve done in all three), and I definitely recommend the first two, and so far (because I am currently reading it), I do recommend it, but we’ll see when I’m finished.
6. Dormouse: What was the last book that sent you to sleep?
1984 (George Orwell), which I still haven’t managed to carry on because it’s so bleak and boring (not the book, but the character that narrates the novel). I really like the ideas in theory, but I’ll have to push through the beginning to get to the juicy stuff!
7. Cheshire Cat: Book that made you laugh and smile?
The main genre of books I enjoy are murder mysteries and cute romances, that don’t have A LOT of smiling and laughing out loud, but there is definite smiling. For example, Racing Savannah (Miranda Kenneally) was cute and it involved lots of ‘aw, that’s adorable smiling’. 
8. Knave of Hearts: Most recent character who stole your heart?
Mia from If I Stay (Gayle Forman). I also really liked Adam from the same boo.
9. Jabberwocky: Best villain you’ve read this year?
I think the monsters from Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs) were brilliantly written and I could imagine them perfectly in my head!
10. Down the Rabbit Hole: What’s the latest book/series/author that’s completely swallowed your interest?
Rainbowell Rowell: Attachments, Fangirls and Eleanor and Park. I am currently waiting for Landline at my library!

 

lostyourmuchness

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to We’re All Mad Here

  1. Cait says:

    *whispers* I am incredibly late to all things Markus Zusak too. x) I haven’t read anything by him!! Although I watched The Book Thief movie and LOVED it. Huzzah for Rainbow Rowell, though!! She has yet to disappointment with a book. I ADORED Fangirl and thought E&P was seriously cute.
    Thanks sooo much for linking up with us!! EEEEP. *piles cake upon this blog*

    • *Grabs virtual cake and eats it all* (Maybe shares some with other people – depends on what type of cake it is…) Yes, Markus Zusak things are awaiting and when I have a spare moment to breathe (excuse me school, you’re taking up valuable reading/watching movie time), I will plonk myself down on the couch (with some sort of food) and watch the movie 😀

  2. I had heard so much about 1984 all my life. We didn’t read it in school; we read Animal Farm instead. So I tried reading 1984 last year because the concept sounds really great. But for several chapters it just seemed like concept, and narrative. Where was the dialogue? This was one book where the main character TOLD us what was happening, instead of us experiencing it with him. I don’t know if it got better. I DNF’d it early on. So I understand your frustration.
    My kids are all crazy about Miss Peregrine’s at school. The photos are definitely creepy, but outside of that, I don’t get the hype.

    • I didn’t like the beginning of MPHFPC, but decided to push on because of all the hype surrounding it. I much preferred the second bit of the novel, once Jacob actually gets to the island and starts experiencing things. I’ve heard very good things abd very bad things about Animal Farm – do you recommend it? Yesss, that’s EXACTLY how I felt about the beginning of 1984. Every plotpoint; every detail was almost annotated and the whole overall outlook on the book is super depressing. But unfortunately, school setworks at required, so I’m going to have to push through…

  3. Zoe says:

    I only just read The Book Thief a few months ago, so you’re not alone – haha! 😉

    To be honest, I loved the ending of Allegiant because it took so much gut on Veronica’s part and I feel it was the right, realistic thing to do – but the rest of the story fell kind of “meh” for me. But, I can definitely see why you might have felt that way about the ending…I don’t blame you! 😉

    Yes! I agree! The monsters in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children were so creepy! I read it a few years ago, and I STILL get scared whenever I see that book – LOL!

    Thanks for sharing! ❤

    • I think the ending of Allegiant was very well written and as a writer myself, I think it was very brave of her to do what she did! I wasn’t really expecting it, because Tris was THE main character and then BAM (and the dust is gone)!

      Thanks for visiting 🙂 (and the Book Thief is definitely on my TBR pile for the midyear holidays… if I can get past the beginning).

  4. Sighh, I’ve been wondering about whether to read It’s Kind of a Funny Story and Perks for so long. I’m taking part in Mental Health Awareness Month next month and it would probably be a good time to read those books but for some reason I just… I don’t know. It’s nice to hear you liked them though! Maybe I will be swayed eventually.

    Haha, I’m really not a big fan of classics either. (I study Classics, but that’s…. another matter entirely.) I would never have read any classics if not for school. The worst was when I had to suffer through Pride and Prejudice at school. I hated every second of that book. Writing an essay on it was not much fun either.

    I haven’t read The Book Thief yet. I read a third of it years and years ago back when it first came out, but I couldn’t finish it for some reason. And now I can’t seem to pick it back up again, even though everyone else seems to love it and I know I should give it a second chance!

    I loved Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl! I really should check her other books out.

    Here’s my tea party blog tag!

    • I think there was skyscraper syndrome around It’s Kind of A Funny Story (and also Perks), which meant that going into those books I had really great expectations (no pun intended), but I’m not sure if they hit the mark. I couldn’t get into It’s Kind of A Funny Story to begin with, but as it progressed, I started to really identify with Craig and the other characters. I carried on with it only because of the hype surrounding it – normally I would’ve put it down. I liked Perks more out of the two and I just really enjoyed the fact that there were finally books about mental health awareness. Many books skip over this and I’m glad it’s finally coming to light.

      I couldn’t get into the beginning of the Book Thief and will try again sometime… But I do need to watch the film – maybe it will inspire me. Ugh, classics are horrible and I don’t get teachers and other people wanting everyone to read them (wow, that was a generalist statement, but hopefully you get the point :P)

      Yes, Rainbow Rowell’s books are great (and so is her name!!)

Leave a Reply

