Top Ten Tuesday (6)

This week is a freebie. Like a choose-your-own-adventure, I never know which way to go or what to pick. But I said to myself, “Lauren, just pick something and you will love it”.

justdoit
Thank you Amy Poehler (I think it’s her??). But I DID pick one *proud smile*. As usual, I am joining up with The Broke and The Bookish for this meme.

Top ten  book worlds/places I would like to take a day trip to (no strings attached): 
1. Hogwarts (Harry Potter)
2. Hogsmeade (Harry Potter)
3. Diagon Alley (Harry Potter)

Harry Potter is my adolescent years in a book series and the world J.K. Rowling has come up with is AMAZING. It’s so detailed and perfect, and ugh, if I didn’t know it was fictional, I would think it was real because all the small things make it seem so real (you know, besides all the magic involved). I want to visit Ollivander’s Wand Shop, Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes, Madame Malkin’s and Borgin and Bourkes. I want to have a drink at Madame Rosemerta’s and of course, buy everything at Honeydukes!  I want to walk through the hallowed halls of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, experiencing where Harry, Hermione, Ron and the rest of the characters spent a majority of their lives.

4. Emerald City (Wizard of Oz)
5. Wonderland (Alice In Wonderland)
6. College (from Fangirl)

I want to see everything glitter with emeralds and the yellow brick road leading up to the renowned city. Wonderland seems like such a marvellous place; a surrealistic painting in the real world. Okay, so this one seems weird. I’ve got all these magical mystical worlds and then college. I live in Australia, where college is uni(versity) and we’ve grown up on a media diet full of American tv shows and movies. Which is not a bad thing – I love them. There are so many movies about the ‘college experience’ (e.g. the House Bunny, American Pie franchise, 17 Again), you get the picture. While I know these are far from realistic (and to be honest, I’m not hugely into the whole ‘wooo, let’s get totally smashed and party till I pass out’ thing, I think, though, there’s a part of me that wants to experience the ‘American college experience (but tamer)’ for one night and there’s more chance I’ll experience it there than here.

[okay, so 90% of that paragraph was me rambling and not making a whole lot of sense. Sorry about that].

7. The Institute (The Mortal Instruments)
8. Court Room (To Kill A Mockingbird)
9. The Cinema (The Thief Lord)
10. The Capitol (The Hunger Games)

The institute sounds/looks beautiful/amazing/stunning: have you seen the outside??? I want to visit the court room for two reasons a) to be inside a court room because I never have and b) see how things have changed from then (in terms of look, dynamics etc.) to nowadays. I would love to see where the kids in The Thief Lord lived and where everyone slept and how bad the conditions really where (plus, it’s in Venice, which is my number on destination!) ALL THE CREATIVE COSTUMES AND COLOUR AND DESIGN AND JUST BEAUTIFUL clothes and make-up done.

(Plus I want to visit almost all the fictional worlds I read about).

fantasyworldmap tkambcourtroom

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday (6)

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    I would like to visit the capitol too! Oddly no one there gets reaped into the hunger games.

  2. definitely avoid the reaping!

  3. Great topic! I would definitely love to visit the HP world and those three places would be on the top of my list ❤ I'd also love the visit the Burrow because it sounds like a fun, crazy house. Here's my TTT, I went with my favourite mind-blowing endings.

  4. Hilde says:

    Oh yes, the cinema! I have quite a vivid picture of it in my mind, and I’d love to see how it was actually supposed to look.

  5. As a foodie, I’d love to have that pill in Capitol that allows you to eat more (though…I guess vomiting isn’t the coolest means to get to that point either).

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  6. Ohh, yes! Food people unite 🙂 Also, your topic for your ttt this week is awesome (and I do recommend reading The Help)!

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday (25) | strawberrydrapes

Leave a Reply

