Augustus Waters Was The Great Star-Crossed Love Of My Life

I SAW ‘THE FAULT IN OUR STARS.

I read The Fault in Our Stars way back when (2012), and then tracked the announcement of the movie (February 2013), followed by me re-reading the book and then my excitement when the trailer was released made me realise a) this thing was a long time coming and b) it was seriously surreal.

(The fault dear Brutus is not in our stars, but in ourselves).

Okay, so no, I didn’t cry. I laughed though and I was plenty sad. Other people cried (especially this annoying girl who was sitting in a row above me to my left. I think she cried the entire movie). It was pretty great, but I was expecting – not more, but I thought I was going to be more emotionally invested. But, that could’ve just been me, since I don’t cry in movies*

Shailene and Ansel were excellent!! (Especially Ansel: damn boy, you played an amazing Augustus Waters).

But, I do have to say this: when you image a character out of a book the same way she/he looks on screen, the author has done his/her job. So with my own glass of the Stars/Peter Van Houten’s whiskey glass, I raise my glass to you John Green for creating and then casting** the perfect Van Houten, Lidewij and Hazel’s mom. They were pretty much as I imagined them (save Lideqij, who had blonde hair in my imagines).

The movie included pretty much all the (major) quotes from the book (seriously, that is a major thing), but here is the list of things I wish they’d put in (this is me nitpicking):
– “Lonely, vaguely pedophilic swing set seeks the butts of children”
– The beautiful couple are beautiful (in Dutch).
– Times a slut – she screws everybody.

I think that, as Hazel pointed out, theirs was an epic love story.

Shailene was the perfect Hazel: she gave Hazel Grace that energy and exuberance; the buoyancy she needed as a person and a relateable character. She brought Hazel Grace to life.

I think (as the book did), the movie portrayed what it’s like to live as a person with this debilitating sickness. Both the book and the film captured the essence that anyone who has it is still a person, just as you are, but they have some added extras.

Cancer just makes me so angry and watching TFIOS, although fictional, gave me some insight into how devastating cancer is to those who have it and those around it with those who have it.

“There is only one things in this world shittier than biting it from cancer when you’re sixteen, and that’s having a kid who bites it from cancer.”

I’m happy that John Green wrote about cancer through the eyes of Hazel Grace who saw things as they were: no bullshittery, no fluff intended. She spoke the raw, honest, (sometimes scary) truth and didn’t shy away. I bow down to this because it was a story focused on the person and their life, as opposed to the issue or event they’re going through.

Maybe that’s what kept my tears at bay: the anger that real life people actually have to go through this shit. I mean what did they do to deserve this? Absolutely nothing, but they still have to deal with it.

FACT: The other kids in the support group were real life cancer patients and I think this speaks volumes at how amazing this film really was.

(Also, I was in a fog because I was FINALLY  seeing the movie, after being so so so so excited when I found out about it a couple of years ago. Hopefully I’ll see it again (and again and again) so I can appreciate it’s beauty once more).

Okay? (not) Okay.

That’s the thing about pain it demands to be felt.
The marks that humans leave are too often scars. 

*The last (and only movie) I remember crying in was 50/50 which made me bawl. I did cry in the TFIOS book though.
** So I know it probably wasn’t John who did the casting, but let me have my fantasy for a few minutes and think that it was (creds to the casting director though).

 

 

 

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Augustus Waters Was The Great Star-Crossed Love Of My Life

  1. Pingback: Days of Future Past (8) | strawberrydrapes

Leave a Reply

