Top Ten Tuesday (10)

*Current Lauren is in Tasmania. This was written by past Lauren (who had forethought)*

tas

 

Process of selecting a book:
1. Look at cover
2. Decide if it’s pretty/if I like it
3. Read blurb

booksbysam

While I know it’s not a completely accurate description of the book, it still gives me an idea of what the books about: an inkling if you like. Sometimes I don’t even notice the cover of the book, instead I go straight to the blurb to see if it’s something that I want to read. Judging a book by it’s cover is liked judging a person by their clothes etc – sometimes very accurate; sometimes completely wrong. I’m not a huge fan of covers with floating people, but most of the time they suit whatever books they’re on.

I have this thing about people on the front of books. I’m okay with it, as long as their heads covered/not there. I think it just gives me more freedom to imagine the character; using the body as a base. Or sometimes, there’ll be bits of the face, but not all of it, which I also like because, once again, it gives a base, but doesn’t give everything away.

This brings me to this weeks Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

ttt

Ten Book Cover Trends (or just elements of covers) I Like/Dislike 
1. City of Bones (and the rest of the trilogy) (Cassandra Clare)
I really like the ‘it’s almost a full person but not quite’, because it gives a sense of what they look like, without setting his/her looks in stone.
2. 13 Little Blue Letters (Maureen Johnson)
Normally I don’t like covers with girls (or boys) on the front cover standing in weird poses, but I really like this one. Maybe it’s because of the postage stamp pattern around the edge or the fact that the book is based on letters and travelling (two things I love!)
3.  Does My Head Look Big in This? (Randa Abdel-Fattah)
I LOVE THIS BOOK + the cover. It’s so expressive and fun and captures the spirit of the book completely.
cityofbones 13lbe doesmyheadlookbiginthis
4. Rose By Any Other Name (Maureen McCarty)
I can almost imagine what Rose looks like from the way she is standing and what she’s wearing.
5. Eleanor and Park (Rainbow Rowell)
I love this cover because it’s so adorable! It’s one of those covers that you don’t understand to begin with, but once you’ve read the book, it makes sense (which is awesome!)
6. Speak (Laurie Halse Anderson)
I love love this cover. It’s so simple, effective and beautiful.

rosebyanyothernameeleanor+parkspeak

7. We Were Liars (E. Lockhart)
This is another way to obscure the identity of someone, but still give some clues as to what they look like
8. Anna and the French Kiss
While Anna can be seen the (mystery) French boy cannot. I’m quite happy with this picture of Anna, because I feel as if it’s an accurate picture of his description in the book.
wewereliars annaandthefrenchkiss

What book covers do you like/not like?

 

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday (10)

  1. It’s always great when the cover allows readers to interpret what the characters look like from just providing a basic anatomical model (except in the cases when the cover is completely off the description…)

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  2. Yes, I think it’s very important to have the base image, even if it’s a bit of the face or body or something. Ugh, I really don’t like it when there’s an image on the cover and it REALLY doesn’t match the novel!

Leave a Reply

