Top Ten Tuesday (11)

I’ve always had this prejudice against ‘classic’ books (ha, classic pun). I think it’s the stigma attached to them that because they’ve been written 1000 years ago, they’re badly written, boring and in most cases, use ye olde English.

pp

 

I think ‘classic’ books are no different to all other books that are written nowadays: some people love them, some people hate them, and some people are indifferent towards them. Whether something was written then or now, it’s still subjective; the time period doesn’t change this.

seesawgif

 

Sometimes, as a book person, I feel this almost sense of duty to read these so-called classics to be ‘educated’ about the history of books (but then I decide that I don’t wan to read it, because it’s a ‘classic’). This, as I mentioned before is probably due to the stigma attached and, also, in part, my laziness. Sometimes all I want is a cutesy romance, without all the family wars, superfluous use of certain vocabulary (hopefully I used superfluous right…) and books just famous for the number of years they’ve been around.

ilypap

 

This weeks Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the Broke and Bookish is  Top Ten Favorite Classic Books (however you define classic) or Top Ten Classics I Want To Read (something to do with classic books, pretty much).

ttt

Top Ten Books I think should be considered classics/should stay as classics
1. The Harry Potter series (J.K. Rowling)
While this isn’t an ‘official’ classic book yet, in 50 years or so, I reckon it’ll be considered one of the greatest (if it’s not already) book series ever written.

“… He’ll be famous–a legend–I wouldn’t be surprised if today was known as Harry Potter Day in the future–there will be books written about Harry–every child in our world will know his name!

It’s almost a cult phenomenon; something that everyone is – or wants to – be apart of. We have books, movies, fanfiction (so so much of this!), a theme park, a Harry Potter tour, merch, shops. The only thing we don’t have (as yet) is a TV series and I’m holding out that it’ll appear by the time I’m an adult.

2. To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
So this is an ‘official’ classic. I’m not a huge fan of the first half of the book; actually to but it more bluntly, I thought the first half was boring, unnecessary and dense. The second, half, however, was very brilliantly written, interesting and I could relate to the characters. It was a novel that brought forward the ideas of racism, which was a thing that was very present, but not always thought of as wrong (1960).
3. The Fault in our Stars (John Green)
Much like Harry Potter, I think this deserves to be considered an ‘official’ classic. This novel went from just another John Green novel sitting on someone’s bookshelf, to a novel that everyone has read: no matter their age, race, gender or religion. Hazel Grave and Augustus touch a nerve with everyone alike and anyone who reads this can’t help become invested in their story; their life. I know the movie is super big in cinemas now, but the book came first and I urge anyone who hasn’t read it to read it, and if you have read it, congratulate yourself, and then read it again.

hazel+gussintokamb
4. Shakespeare plays (e.g. Romeo and Juliet, Macbeth etc.)
I think all of his plays should be considered classics, but I just chose a few major ones to name. I have studied both Romeo and Juliet and Macbeth at school, and preferred R+J over Macbeth. I think this man was very ahead of his time, and while I harbour a strong dislike for old English and the actual plays, I think they’re very clever in the way they’re written.
5. The Famous Five + The Secret Seven (Enid Blyton)
6. The Magic Faraway Tree series  (Enid Blyton)
I think I have read every single Enid Blyton book that has ever existed, in every series. I started off with the Magic Faraway Tree series, with Moonface and the different lands, and moved onto The Famous Five and Secret Seven. I loved her Mallory Towers series, and also read The Naughtiest Girls at School series. I have read the lesser-known series called the Five Find-Outers and Dog. Even now, I would give anything to go to one of those boarding schools to have midnight picnics involving ginger beer and little sandwiches.
7. 1984
Not a fan. (at all). I’m currently reading this (starting again for the 3rd time) and while I think it’s boring and all Winston Smith does is complain about his dull life, the ideas and theme involved are very interesting. I think the whole principle of ‘who is watching’ is something we as people living in this technologically advanced century have to deal with. I have also been told that it gets betters and I have to just push through. Let’s hope. 

magicfarawaytree bigbroiswatching
8. Roald Dahl books (esp. The BFG, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Matilda)
9. Dr Suess. books (esp. The Cat in the Hat, Green Eggs and Ham, Fox in Socks)
Once again, I’d like to play the childhood card. If there is someone on Earth who has not read Enid Blyton’s books, they have definitely read either Roald Dahl’s or Dr. Seuss’ books (I’d put more money on the latter). These books are childhood classics: these are the stories that entertained you as a child; the ones your parents read to you, and then later you read to yourself when you learnt how to. Whether it be the rhyming slang of Dr. Seuss’ genius or the book (and movie) of Matilda that brings joy to those who have read it.
10. Everything Judy Blume
Her books are hilarious; filled with classic jokes and weird stuff you can’t begin to understand, but laugh anyway. They’re teenager guides; what to do when, where, how.

sallyj areyoutheregod superfudge

 

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday (11)

  1. I have to agree with you on Enid Blyton – a recent newspaper article I read criticised her writing heavily but no one can deny that she has a special place in many bookworm’s childhood.
    My TTT: http://theresurgentbookworm.wordpress.com/2014/07/01/top-ten-tuesday-classics-week/

  2. beckyday6 says:

    I love how honest you are in this post about your thoughts on classics!

  3. I’d say Shakespeare is more than just a classic. Personally, I find that there’s a distinct air around his works that puts them almost in a different category of classics. I’d hope that makes sense but it probably doesn’t haha.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • Nah, as soon as I read your comment, I understood where you were coming from! Plus (as I didn’t think about before), his ‘books’ are actually plays, which once again, sort of separates them from the rest.

Leave a Reply

