Top Ten Tuesday (14)

Fictional characters are great for different reasons. Some are tall (and can therefore help you open higher up windows) and some are short (which means they have good shoulders to rest your head).

tall

Some characters are useful for entertainment purposes (NO, not that THAT – get your head out of the gutter); for example, people like Adam from If I stay.

adam

There’s also characters that are GREAT for the sole purpose of eye-candy – Exhibit A: Ryan Gosling

itslikeyourephotoshopped

Seriously? It’s like you’re Photoshopped!

But, when push comes to shove, which characters would you choose when answering the age-old question:
Who would you bring to a deserted island?
You can only pick 1:
Smart OR good with hands?
Builds boats for a living OR is an engineer?
Wizard OR Witch?
Farmer OR Military Man
Eye Candy OR best friend?

Let me know what you would pick in the comments!!

apparating
Lucky for me, I don’t have to choose out of that list, but I am making a list. This brings me to this weeks Top Ten Tuesday, an original meme created by the girls at The Broke and The Bookish. The topic this week, is indeed, Top Ten Characters I Would Want With Me On A Deserted Island.

ttt

Top Ten Characters I Would Want With Me On A Deserted Island 
1. Katniss Everdeen (Hunger Games Trilogy)
This has been on 99% of all ttts that I’ve seen today. It seems – and I agree – that Katniss is an invaluable asset when stuck on a deserted island. I guess it would be a similar to The Arena (except there may or may not be something wanting to kill you – you never know). She’s quick with a bow and smart when it comes to surviving.

mockingjay
2. Rubeus Hagrid (Harry Potter series)
Hagrid would be useful to have on the island because a) he could tell me stories about Lily and James and b) he knows his stuff about plants and (magical) creatures, so he would keep me from dying while I was on the deserted island.hagrid+norbet

3. Hermione Granger (Harry Potter series)
The Brightest Witch of Her Age almost gets sent a  personalised ticket to this island. Besides the fact that she could apparate me off the island, she could also conjure up food, water and (if apparating wasn’t allowed) a boat, plane and then preferably someone to control them. Also, her and I would discuss important things, like books, music and the boys.

orworseexpelled
4. Jem Carstairs (Infernal Devices Trilogy)
We’d need someone to fight off the demons, in case it was a demon-infested island. What a better person than the beautiful face of Jem Carstairs?
5. Tarver (These Broken Stars)
The deserted island would be a walk in the park after his planet. I mean, we’d hope there’d be no giant cat thingies (or if there were, he would know how to dispose of them). He also has experience with surviving on practically nothing + I like his face.
6. Magnus Bane (The Mortal Instruments series)
Magnus is a healer. Dude, this means, I can probably die and he’ll save me with his lovely glittery magic-ness. He’s pretty cool and interesting and I reckon we’d have FANTASTIC conversations.

See what I mean about the glitter?

See what I mean about the glitter?

7. Clary Fray (The Mortal Instruments series)
Clary would be brilliant to have because a) she could help Jem, b) SHE CREATES RUINS!! This means I would be pretty much safe in any situation, providing I had a Clary Fray rune on me.
weaponsclary
8. Jenna Strong (ACID)
Badass.com. She could fight WHATEVER landed on my island – whether it be man or some weird creature thing. She’s got mad survivalist skills and I would love to learn some moves off her.
9 +10. James Mycroft + Rachel Watts
We’ve got the physical skills, but we need some brawn. Mycroft and Watts would be the perfect two to help with anything that needs building/exploding etc. Plus I could love (from afar) at how cute they are together. (At one point I was considering just bringing Mycroft, but then decided they needed each other like Pooh needed Piglet).

sherlock

 

I’m 95% certain those are the wrong Sherlock heads (they’re meant to have at least Mycroft and Watson), but do I have the wrong people? SOMEONE WHO WATCHES SHERLOCK/KNOWS please let me know (and thank-you).

 

 

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday (14)

  1. The head on the left is Moriarty, Sherlock’s adversary. I thought about including Katniss and people from the Potter-verse, then decided against it.

  2. Nice picks! The Sherlock heads – That’s Moriarty, Holmes and Watson 🙂 Tarver would be great on an island, I’d also just love him to be there to stare at him. Hermione and Katniss both made my list, they would both be really useful. Katniss would be put on hunting duty and Hermione could use her magic to help out. Here’s my TTT.

    • Thanks! Definitely helpful to have Hermione and Katniss – their skills would definitely help me not die 😛 Tarver is a great addition 😉 (in both ways, if you know what I mean). Thank for linking me to your ttt 🙂

  3. Love your list. Magnus would be so fun to have around, and he’d be very practical, too. I put Jace instead of Jem, but they both fight demons, so both are good!

  4. Thanks! Yes, Magnus would be awesome to be around. I was tossing up between Jace and Jem, but decided on Jem because I thought he would be a lot less sarcastic. (I love sarcasm, but maybe not when I’m stuck on a deserted island…) But maybe Jace could come for a visit!

Leave a Reply

