Top Ten Tuesday (16)

I don’t categorise books. I find it hard, especially when the category is not obvious. I read whatever I feel like – but I guess it’s mostly contemporary YA, with murder mysteries on the side. I read a little bit of fantasy, but not very often, as I think for those types of books you have to be fully committed with reading and often my schoolwork + life is too busy for that full-on commitment (with books, that is). I guess I’m also not really into faeries and demons and witches and magical plants, but sometimes, I will just suck it up and read a very good book/series.

Exhibit A

Exhibit A

 

Exhibit B

Exhibit B

I also don’t really branch out very much – as I said before I don’t often read fantasy, what even is a ‘new age’ novel, and even though I would like to, I don’t think I’ve ever read a biography. I once started Mao’s Last Dancer, but found it very dense and hard to read. I would like to try again, though, and add a few more biographies and maybe even non-fiction books to the list.

Branching out - geddit??

Branching out – geddit??

This weeks Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by the girls over at The Broke and The Bookish), is Top Ten Books I’d Give To Readers Who Have Never Read X. As I don’t really categorise, I’m going to slightly change this weeks topic and write a list of ‘Top Ten media products* who would like to know more about cancer.

ttt

I’m going with this because it focuses on a topic, rather than a genre and I (this is going to sound very morbid) enjoy books about cancer because it shows the resilience of people who have it, and how they deal while they’re – and everyone else around them – is falling apart. Mostly everything I’ve seen/read about cancer almost brings out the best in that person because they know it could be their last day and they want to live everything to the fullest degree.

THESE ARE NOT NON-FICTION. THEY ARE ARE FICTION BOOKS.

Top Ten Media Products I’d Give To Readers Who Would Like to Know More About Cancer
1. The Fault in our Stars
I know I keep banging on about this book (and today the film also), but I love that even though Hazel Grace + Augustus Waters have cancer, the book is focused on the people and their journeys, as opposed to the cancer.
2. The Fault in our Stars (film)
I really enjoyed this book-to-film adaptation and I think it brings to life the book in a refreshing way – and continues the theme of the character’s journey.
2. My Sister’s Keeper
I read this ages ago, but I remember loving it – especially how it dealt with the impacts of cancer on other people and how it didn’t only affect the sick person, but the family and friends. I think this is more of an ‘adult’ book (once again, categories are NOT my thing), but I would like to hear people’s opinions on the ending 
3. My Sister’s Keeper (film)
The reason I would like to hear about what people think of the ending is because this has a different ending to the book – and I would like to know what people liked better? Sofia Vassilieva’s portrayal of Kate was AMAZING and so was the rest of the cast.

mysisterskeeperphotobooth
4. 50/50 (film)
I loved loved this film (and it made me cry)*. I also bang on about this, but I would like EVERYONE to watch it and tell me what they think. It’s based on a true story and I feel like it deals with the shock announcement that ‘you have cancer’ very well. It shows the main character Adam (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) go through various emotional stages – from ‘why me’ to ‘No’. 
5. Now Is Good (film)
I saw this a while ago, but I think the only reason I watched it was because Kaya Scodelario was in it. I love her and I LOVE Skins. (There’s a lot of loving in today’s post). But, it was an overall enjoyable movie -if not slightly flufflier than all the others. It still deals with cancer, but in a slightly different take: the main character Tessa has leukemia and she has this ‘bucket list’ she wants to complete in order to prove that she’s ‘lived’. There are some beautiful moments in this movie.

nowisgood

Honourable mentions include: Zac and Mia. 

If anyone has any cancer movie/books (whether fiction or non-fiction) recommendations, I would LOVE to hear them. Let me know in the comments of your opinion on any of these media products.

*I DO NOT cry in movies. To date, this is the only movie I remember to have cried in.

 

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday (16)

  1. Not sure if you’ve read it, but I just finished reading A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (and the less you know about it, the better you are off going into the read) but it certainly has it’s ups and downs and fits nicely with the theme you have going here!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  2. No, I haven’t read it – but I’ve hear great and wonderful things about Patrick Ness, so I will definitely check out this book. Thank-you for the recommendation!

  3. I’m never forget seeing “My Sister’s Kepper” in theatres, it is a magical movie.
    Here’s my list, if you wanna check it out. 🙂 I’m experimenting with doing them on YouTube now, please like and comment if you can 🙂 http://youtu.be/dapaLyFe-N0?list=UUP4Ao6fj3mLXHqOSSxyqh8w

    • I agree – I think the movie has that sort of magical appeal to it, especially through the characters and some of the decisions they make. Thanks for linking me to your ttt – I will check it out soon. I’ve always had the idea of doing videos but always freaked out/thought I’d be boring – so maybe one day 😛

Leave a Reply

