Top Ten Tuesday (17)

I have been slack with posting at a reasonable hour – and I’m sorry, but I’m not sure if it affects me or you more?? (Although, there is the missing of some great gifs because my phone doesn’t appreciate the goodness that are moving pictures).

But I digress.

Hype is a weird thing. It’s meant to make someone excited about the product and therefore resulting in them buying/using/recommending said product to other people and then the cycle continues.

image

(I’m not sure if that will work, but we’ll see).

Sometimes, though, hyping something up does the exact opposite and repels people away from said object/product. Maybe it’s because they don’t want to be disappointed when they finally get around to using the product because of raised expectations or maybe they don’t want to purchase product because they feel like they would be a ‘fake fan’ as they’re 2 months behind everyone else.

image

I would now like to introduce this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the Broke and The Bookish  which focuses on Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read.

image

Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read:
1. City of Heavenly Fire
There are multiple reasons for this: a) it’s the end of a series = sadness
b) there’s been a mixture of super negative and super positive reviews, so I’m a bit apprehensive to see where I’ll stand.
c) it’s sooooooo LONG!! Now I don’t mind long books, but this is just gigantic!!! (Hopefully it’s worth it).
2. An Abundance of Katherines
I have tried many times to read and like this novel, but to no avail. I sorta feel like I owe John Green to read his book, but Colin infuriated me to NO END!!! We’ll see…

image

3. JK Rowling’s other books, e.g. the Casual Vacancy
I LOVED (and still do) Harry Potter. He was apart of my childhood and teenage years, shaping my reading choices from early on. I don’t feel as indebted to JK as I do to John Green; I think because the books are in two completely different genres. I very much enjoy/loved the experience of Harry Potter and I’m sort of worried that by reading something else by the same author, I would change my views based on what I think about her other books.

4. The Lunar Chronicles (Marissa Meyer)
I don’t very much enjoy fantasy books (except for a select few) and since the hype for these books have been massive, I feel like I, by association, have super high expectations and this could cause an issue if I was to ever read them – maybe in the future once the hype has died down a little.

image

5. The Maze Runner
The movie looks pretty interesting (plus LOOK AT THAT CAST), and I feel like I should read the book before I see the movie, but I can’t seem to work up the motivation to read it.

6. The Host (Stephenie Meyer).
This is nearly opposite to The Maze Runner – I’ve already seen the movie and know what happens, so why should I read the book?? That’s my (seriously bad) excuse, because as is commonly known, the book is better/more detailed etc than the movie.

image

6. Silver Linings Playbook
This is similar to the last conundrum, but I did try and read this. I didn’t enjoy the slowness and the writing overall.

image

This week was quite hard, as most of the time, I will read (or at least try) everything. Is there anything you guys won’t read?

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday (17)

  1. If you aren’t adamant about reading books before movies, you could totally watch the movie (Maze Runner) and potentially get inspired to read the series afterwards.

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • Yeah, I think I’ll end up doing that. School has been crazy-busy, so for now, movie-watching will probably take precedence over their more detailed counter-parts. But school holidays, here I come!!

Leave a Reply

