Top Ten Tuesday (18)

I collect a list of books to read. I mean, I keep lists of EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE so everything ends up having multiple lists and I’m not sure which one is the valid list or which one I should follow.

But, as far as I know, this is the most comprehensive and consistent list I keep of books being recommended. I keep it on my laptop in a file named ‘BOOKS TO READ’. I used to store this list on paper, but then I lost that paper and started a new list and everything was in seven different places at once.

I follow numerous book blogs, spend too much time on Insideadog and just generally browse books. Whenever something looks good or comes up a number of times around the blogosphere, I copy and paste it over to the list. This weeks Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the girls over at The Broke and The Bookish is Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling You That You MUST Read.

image

Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling You That You MUST Read.

1. We Were Liars (E. Lockhart)
I am very proud to say I am now the owner (for a temporary time, as it us from the library) of this renowned book which I am VERY VERY excited to read. It has been floating around the blogosphere AND I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS AT THE END because everyone is so vague about it (and I know that’s the exact point, but I wanna know!!)

image

2. Butter (Erin Lange)
This was around a while ago, but stuck in my head for two reasons:
a) the cover (which is bright yellow)
b) the name: it is a food (which is draw me 99% of the time and also, it’s just a no nonsense, but nonsensical name: Butter

image

3. Isla and the Happily Ever After (Stephanie Perkins)
I am so so so excited for this. And while it hasn’t been recommended to me personally or via over exposition on the internet, I know it will soon be very present and the only reason it’s not is because it’s new. I am cheating a bit on this and recommending it to myself and for the record, other people as well.

image

4. Apple and Rain – Sarah Crossan
Once again, food calls. This also just sounds beautiful as if it could be raining apples, but the apples would not fall down and probably kill people; rather they would float gently down when it was raining.

image

5. Room (Emma Donoghue)
This was recommened to me by a friend a couple of weeks ago. I rmember hearing about it ages but didn’t take any note. The idea sounds very interesting and I really want to read this!
6. Lunar Chronicles (Marissa Meyer)
These have been EVERYWHERE. This is not a personal recommendation, but I feel as if everyone who has read this book just wants everyone else to read it. So far, I haven’t been swayed, but maybe one day, when I want to take a chance.

image

7. Jo Nesbo books
I love murder mysteries, but have only read two or three authors who write in the genre. That being said, I have read A LOT of the authors’ works. I am very comfortable with the authors I read, and while Jo Nesbo’s works are different, I do like then. Sometimes, though, all I want is the familiar, so if you’re asking, I would definitely pick James Patterson and Michael Robotham over him.
8. Dangerous Girls (Abigail Haas)
Once again, a book that has been recommended to bloggers and non-bloggers alike. It looks like my cup of tea (or murder, since that’s involved), so I definitely want to scout this out when I can.

image

9. Mao’s Last Dancer (Li Cunxin)
I have started this before and never finished it, but was recommened numerous times by my mom and sister to read to finish it. I would like to eventually get around it, but feel like it’s best left till the holidays when I can invest some time.
image

10. The Mazer Runner (James Dashner)
I feel like this is getting a lot of screen time because of the movie. I’m not terribly interested in this book, but I feel like if I were to start, it would grow on me.

Does anyone have any recommendations for me to add to the ever growing list?

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday (18)

  1. Yesssss–I am also of the firm belief that food in any capacity does elevate a book no matter how it’s used!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  2. Oh my gosh that panda gif. I remember watching those commercials on youtube — they’re hilarious. I’ve been hearing awesome things about Dangerous Girls, too, so I will definitely have to pick up a copy of that sometime. Anyway, great list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

