Top Ten Tuesday (19)

In a perfect world, I would have ALL the books. Unfortunately, I don’t own ALL the books and time is not infinite, so I don’t have the time to read all the books I want. While this is an upsetting fact, I placate myself by a) reading as many books as I can and b) by borrowing/buying as many books as possible.

readallthebooks

 

This leads me to my TBR. My very loooooong, always-being-added-to TBR. I’m one of those people who will sometimes stop you in the middle of you speaking, because I remembered a book I want to read and now I have to write it down before I forget. When I don’t have my laptop on me, I write the book down on whatever is available – my hand/arm/scrap paper/a carton; anything that is writable on. ilovetoread

 

This brings me to this weeks Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the girls over at The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks topic is Top Ten Books I Really Want to Read but Don’t Own Yet. The proper answer to this, as I said before, would be ALL of them, but keeping that in mind, here is my top ten (which is constantly changing).

ttt

 

 Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet
1. Isla and the Happily Ever After (Stephanie Perkins)
This is on order for me and I am SO SO SO excited!! I have been waiting for this book since it came out and when it finally arrives, homework (and anything else for that matter) is taking a backseat for a few hours.
2. Faking It (Gabrielle Tozer)
3. This Shattered World (Meagan Spooner and Amie Kaufman)
4. Every Move (Ellie Marney)
This is slightly cheating the system, as these are available to be owned yet. I am shockingly bad with release dates, but I think I read somewhere that Faking It comes out on the new year and as far as I know (not very far), the other two come out next year sometime? (If anyone is knowledgeable in the areas of releases. i.e. everyone else, please let me know so I can have a party about the book coming out).

galaxy
5. The Hate List (Jennifer Brown)
This was floating around the blogsphere a while back and looks super interesting! I really enjoy novels that look at extreme events and the way people are affected by them and how they manage. 
6. A Monster Calls (Patrick Ness)
I have no clue what this is about (someone did tell me once), but I do remember thinking that I would like it. I also remember reading about one of his other books (don’t know what it’s called, but the front cover has checks (I think) and the name (or the author’s name) is in 3D lettering (and this description probably doesn’t make much sense).
7. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (Catherynne M. Valente)
8. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe  (Benjamin Alire Saenz)
Those titles are works of art (especially the first one). I have also heard that both novels are beautifully written and I am all for flowy prose.

boatspotc9. Dead Ends – Erin Lange
I finished Butter by the same author a couple of days ago and loved it, so I’m excited to try this one out too.
10. Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
I started this once,  but never finished it because I think I thought it was too dense. I have seen the movie, and would like to give the book another try.

If you could read only one author’s  books for the rest of your life who would it be?

 

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday (19)

  1. Having no clue about what A Monster Calls is about is the way (I’d say) is best to go into the read–it might end up catching you by surprise!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • I’m starting to think that not reading the blurb is a good way to go. So often the blurb doesn’t match up with the book and vice versa and as you said, I reckon not reading it is a good way to go: a book surprise!

  2. Jenny Duffy says:

    Great list! I loved The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, it is well worth a read! 🙂 Here’s my TTT!

  3. alyssatheliteraturenerd says:

    A Monster Calls is quite possibly my favorite book. I definitely recommend it. Also Aristotle and Dante is on my list, too.

Leave a Reply

