Top Ten Tuesday (21)

There’s always the books that are everywhere – on the blogosphere, in the book shops, on the library display, even sitting at your non-reading friend’s bookshelf because they are just THAT BIG. But then, there’s also those secret books – the books that are AMAZING, but not enough people know about them! I’m not saying that the ‘everywhere’ books are bad – just the opposite in fact, some of those books are my absolute favourite!

hpwandBut, here is the Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and The Bookish) list of my Underrated Books.

ttt

Top Ten Underrated Books
1. Seraphina (Rachel Hartman)
This was a beautifully written, very detailed book. Normally, fantasy books (hopefully I am classifying this correctly) are not something I would pick up, but this book made so much sense and it was like I’d had a revelation when the book was finished. The intricacies and idiosyncrasies of the characters made this book for what it is.

dragon
2. ACID (Emma Pass)
I absolutely LOVED this book. Jenna was a very persistent, headstrong, kick-ass character, who tried her absolute hardest to sort through the web of lies, secrets and traps laid out for her. I was almost scared that ACID could become a reality, because the book was written so realistically, but as far as I know, the Policemen/women we have are not scary-ass truncheon-wielding maniacs.
3. Miss. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs)
4. Why We Broke Up (Daniel Handler)
PICTURES!! Just because I am grown up, does not mean I still don’t love the pictures in my books. Both these novels have funky ways to add pictures to make the reading that much more enjoyable. Riggs’ addition of photos at the beginning of each chapter added an element of creepiness, as well as working as an extra visualisation tool – allowing me as the reader to further picture what he was describing. In Handler’s novel (which I am currently reading), the pictures are in the form of (fantastic) illustrations that depict everything that she’s giving back to him (not a spoiler, it’s in the blurb!)
5. Attachments (Rainbow Rowell)
I know Rainbow Rowell is known for Fangirl and Eleanor and Park, but I really did enjoy her (first?) adult book. It’s teetering on the fence between adult and young adult, but whichever side it falls into, I enjoyed it all the same. I really liked the whole premise (and the set-out of the emails), which brought the two opposing ideas of ‘technology’ and ‘books’ together.

paperclipattachment
6. Man Made Boy (Andrew Skovron)
I can’t think of any of other re-tellings I have read, so here’s to the Inky Awards for introducing me to them. *raises glass of orange juice (because I cannot drink yet*. This is an AWESOME re-telling/spin-off of Frankenstein and Jekyll and Hyde (and various other famous characters). It’s so refreshingly written (and yes, I know, that doesn’t actually mean anything, but it just describes how it was written so well), and also quite amusing.
7. Will Grayson, Will Grayson (John Green and David Levithan)
EVERYONE (well, mostly everyone) will have heard of John Green – but mostly in the association with The Fault in Our Stars. But, he has written other novels too – including Will Grayson, Will Grayson. Levithan is also quite well known, but not for this book so much. I would like to draw people’s attentions to the hilarious/moving/deep/strong characters that are Will Grayson.

willgraysonwillgraysonquote
8. Let it Snow (John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle)
I really really loved this novel. My only complaint: the stories weren’t long enough and can I please have a separate book for each? They were seriously cute/funny/adorable/relateable stories, one of which involved A TEACUP PIG!! Also, they all related which was pretty exciting for me, as it’s like everything fitting together like a murder murder (with less blood of course) and it’s just so satisfying.

snowflakes
9. Does My Head Look Big In This? (Randa Abdel Fattah)
YES YES YES. EVERYONE READ THIS. This book is amazing and gives so much valuable insight into the life of Amal, a sixteen-year old Muslim girl who decides she wants to wear the hijiab. It was really interesting and some of the prejudices were quite sad too. I LOVE learning about other cultures so this book is like a precious resource.
10. Upside Down, Inside Out (Monica McInerney)
I think this is one of Monica McInerney’s lesser known books. There’s the old Alphabet Sisters and all those affiliated with their family, but this is the first ‘other one’ that I thought of. I really like all of her books because they’re so so rustic and ‘back-to-basics-lifestyle’ which is so exciting and I just want to live like them.

PEOPLE WITH SPARE TIME: Please head over to Insideadog.com.au to vote for your favourite Silver and Gold Inky Award books for 2014.

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday (21)

  1. Jenny Duffy says:

    Loved Seraphina, the world building is just incredible! 🙂 Lots of great books on your list, have been meaning to check out Why We Broke Up for a while.

  2. At first, I felt very info-dumped on, but as I progressed, the world began to materialise into this beautiful place! Why We Broke Up definitely different to what I’d normally read, but I’m very glad my sister gave it to me.

  3. caitlinstern says:

    I read Miss Peregrine in graphic novel form, which worked very well for the story–and still included those strange pictures. And pretty much everything Rowell or Green write is good, in my opinion. 🙂

Leave a Reply

