Top Ten Tuesday (23)

I very rarely DNF (do not finish) a book. I feel like if I get at least a few chapters in, I have to keep going, no matter how hard it is. Sometimes, if I’m a few pages in and and not liking in/ can’t get into it, I will either stop for a break or for good. I like being immersed into the novel quite quickly and can become quite impatient when it doesn’t happen.

daddyiwantanotherpony

I can generally stomach most books. I can’t think of anything I’ve read to the extreme in sex scenes or violence (or anything else). I mean, there have been books with both of those things in, but I can’t think of a book where violence and/or sex scenes were the main theme. I’ve read books that have swearing in (one which I will be discussing below) and also one about drug use called Go Ask Alice. It was quite confronting, but in a very good way (if that’s a thing).

goaskalice

 

This brings me to this weeks Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the girls over at Broke and the Bookish. This weeks topic is Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read (because of the difficulty of the book, subject matter, because it was cringeworthy – however I interpret it).

ttt

Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read
1. All the Truth That’s in Me (Julie Berry)
This was super confusing, especially considering the ‘you’ tense which was aimed at Lucas (one of the characters) and not at the audience. I think I understood most of it by the conclusion, by most of my thoughts while reading it were, ‘wait, what just happened?’ (Kind of like how I am in maths class). I also didn’t particularly like Judith at the beginning – I thought she was whiny/all she wanted was the attention of some boy. But, it did pick up slightly as Judith came out of her dream world and started living in real life. 
2. To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
I’m pretty sure I bang on about this at every opportunity I get (whoops). In the end, I actually really loved this book, because (unfortunately), the issue of racism that was written about in this novel still exists and it was written so so brilliantly [about]. I feel as if the first half was totally unnecessary and WAY too detail – and I practically live for detail. There was so much irrelevant information that definitely didn’t aid in my reading. But, I think the second half was amazing and I would totally read that part again. (No promises for the first part, though).

tkambpov3. 1984 (George Orwell)
I also very often bang on about this. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy one part of the novel more than the other: safe to say I disliked all of it. I found Winston Smith to be a very whiny/annoying character and his his emotions almost seemed detached from him. It was as if Orwell was writing all this stuff and Winston just seemed to be there. I like the idea of the novel though: Big Brother watching and all that.
4. The Slap (Christos Tsiolkas)
This is the book that I mentioned up there (about the swearing). I read this on the general recommendation from people. Apparently it was ‘very good’ and ‘very well written’, but there was ‘too much swearing’. Funnily enough, I didn’t mind the swearing – maybe I’ve become accustomed to this since I hear it quite often at school. I was very underwhelmed with this book. I was expecting some amazing novel, but all I felt throughout was ‘meh’. My other problem with the novel was that it was barely about the actual slap that happened; rather it discussed politics around the slap (which wasn’t my cup of tea).

dogslappinghuman5. Seraphina (Rachel Hartman)
I ended up loving this book, but I was so close to putting it down and just not continuing. Why? I felt very info-dumped on. It’s a fantasy book, centered around half-people/dragons, and a few chapters in, I was so so confused and did not know what was happening. There was new vocabulary and characters being introduced left, right and centre and I just needed a pause to take everything in.  But, as the book progressed, and I actually read the vocab words/characters in use, I understood (mostly) everything and I was like ‘can I please write 1/10th as well as her?’
6. An Abundance of Katherine’s (John Green)
I haven’t actually read this (so I don’t even know if I have the right to put it on here). But anyway. I have tried multiple times to be immersed into the world of Colin and Hassan, but to no avail (just yet). I’m really annoyed I don’t like it, because 1. it sounds awesome and like something I would like and 2. I have enjoyed most of John Green’s other novels (which I know doesn’t mean I will like this one, which seems to be the case anyway). I WILL read this one day!
7. Flowers in the Attic (Virginia Andrews)
Remember when I said I could pretty much stomach most things? Well, I remembered this book. I read this when I was 12 (or 13?) I think, so it could’ve been the age that made me feel about it like I do. I don’t want to give away the (very intriguing) plot, but it involves incest and abuse within the family. I remember thinking it was written very well, but I wouldn’t read it again, because of the subject matter.flowersintheattic1

8. A Corner of White (Jaclyn Moriarty)
This was weird. I got a few pages in and was like ‘whaaaat?’. I am all for weird books, but this book is so past the weird line that the line is now a dot. The premise sounds awesome, so I think I’ll try again.
9. Landline (Rainbow Rowell)
I’m currently reading this. It’s also weird, but a different weird to the previous book. My problem with this is not that it has elements of fantasy in it, it’s that the world is completely normal and then BAM, there’s a little bit of sort-of-magic here, and a little bit over here. It almost seems misplaced. But, I’m going to push through, because I did love her other books and I feel like I should give it more of a chance before I completely veto it. 
10. Macbeth + Romeo and Juliet (Shakespeare)
I also bang on about this. (Funny how my banging mainly revolves around my set-works). I do not (at all) enjoy sonnets. I find them really disjointed, and coupled with the fact that both these plays are written in old English makes everything 10x harder.

Although, young Leonardo <3

Although, young Leonardo ❤

Please head over to insideadog.com.au to vote for your favourite Inky Awards book (Voting closes in 4 days!)

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

