Days of Future Past (26) AND Top Ten Tuesday (24)

I have been very slack in doing the Top Ten Tuesdays – for this week and last week (whoops). I’ve been lazy/procrastinating/unmotivated/I-can’t-be-bothered, but I am here now, and I would like to write this weeks Top Ten Tuesday list right now! Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme hosted by the girls at the Broke and The Bookish.

ttt

I LOVE character driven books. I think the background information and world-building is also very important, but it’s the characters that make use of this background information or the world. They’re the people who drive the story and work their way through the deadly mountains or steal an umbrella and drive away in the golf cart.

brokenumbrella

1. My Life Next Door (Huntley Fitzpatrick)
The Garrett’s were the raucous next-door neighbours I never had. The relationship between Samantha and Jase just felt so real: they had their fair share of perfect fairytale moments, but there were plenty of the scary/now it feels like real life moments too!
2. Fangirl (Rainbow Rowell) 
Cath was an especially relateable character (see: she is ME), and juxtaposed against Wren, it showed the sisters in a very realistic light.
3. Eleanor and Park (Rainbow Rowell)
These two were beautifully written, diverse and smart characters.

eleanor+park
4. To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
Even though this book is driven by the racism in America in the 1930s, I think the book is driven by the characters need to do something about it. Atticus Finch is THE character of the book (even though it isn’t centred around him), because he’s the one who acts and defends the innocent man.
5. The Mortal Instruments trilogy (Cassandra Clare)
Cassandra Clare writes hilariously funny/witty and just great all-round characters. I’ve got to go with Magnus Bane for my favourite character, due to his dry humour, cat and amount of glitter he wears on a permanent base. This is closely followed by Jace, Clary, Alec, Simon and pretty much just everyone (in no particular order)
6. Looking For Alaska (John Green)
I really really enjoyed Miles as the narrator. He told the story in an almost review account, but not quite. My favourite thing about him was his penchant to remember and quote the last word’s of people. It’s such an interesting quirk/habit thingy!! I also really liked Pudge as a character, but Alaska sometimes annoyed me with the things she said.
7. These Broken Stars (Meagan Spooner and Amie Kaufman)
Even though this comes across as the typical ‘boy and girl are isolated from everybody else love story’ it is definitely definitely not! Tarver and Lilac are (brilliant) people in their own rights and this book shows the excellent character development we see in both of them – but especially Lilac.

thesebrokenstars
8. The Intern (Gabrielle Tozer) 
Josie is me. I think Joise is everybody-the-aspiring-writer. She’s funny/clumsy/awkward and just plain perfect, in the way that she isn’t! In everything she does, there’s an element of me too in it.
9. Seraphina (Rachel Hartman)
I know this is a fantasy book, but as I said before, I think the characters drive these novels. Seraphina is the half human/half dragon protagonist of this novel and she is such a fantastic, BEAUTIFULLY BEAUTIFULLY written and explained character.
10. Harry Potter series (J.K. Rowling)
It feels like I’ve either had Fault or the Harry Potter series every Top Ten Tuesday, and surprise surprise, here it is again! I have grown up with the Golden Trio, along with Luna, Sirius, Hagrid, Mcgonagall, Lupin, Tonks, Malfoy, Crookshanks, the Patil twins, Cho, Dumbledore, Voldemort and there has to be a reason (besides the AWESOME AND FANTABULOUS magic) that we all fell in love with these books. (My guess is that it’s the characters)

singleladieshp

 

 

This is my Sunday post where I tell you about things that have happened in the past week and things that are going to happen this week.

PAST

Well, school I guess. (In that, I started again after a two week holiday). It definitely doesn’t feel like I’ve only been back for a week: my brain is tired of reading notes over and over and over again. I did finish The 5th Wave, which got better as it progressed and I really did enjoy it (despite my skepticism for dystopia)!

theplotthickens

I just remembered there’s a movie for the book so after this, I’M DEFINITELY GOING ON A CASTING STALK viewing session. It’s part of the fun obsessing over who is playing who and if they really suit the character they’re playing. I didn’t write anything (how NOT unusual), but I am determined to write something. I keep thinking of bits I’d like to put into the story and now it’s just a matter of typing them in.

wardetermined face

FUTURE

School is just going to be assessments/note taking and various degrees of freaking-out until exams come around. Hopefully I’ll survive and by the time my (important) exams finished, I’ll be okay.

I recently borrowed Wintergirls from my school library, which I think I’ve read, but want to read it again, because a) if I have read it, I remember it was REALLY good or, b) if I haven’t read it, the reviews I’ve seen and read say it was really good and the other Laurie Halse Anderson books I’ve read have been AMAZING. If I do end I liking this book (again), maybe I’ll re-borrow her other books.

wintergirls

I think I was told that the cover of this book (above) was designed by a year 12 student!! Which is absolutely incredible!! (I think they re-published the book with a different cover, which is sad 😦 )

I am absolutely determined to write this week (see: determined face gif up there ^) even if it is only a little bit. I would like to finish Wintergirls and maybe force myself to re-read/skim over 1984 again, because even though I did finish it, it seems I don’t remember anything/didn’t take very much in because I was so un-interested!! (English teachers: pls).

This entry was posted in Days of Future Past, Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Days of Future Past (26) AND Top Ten Tuesday (24)

  1. eisyasofia says:

    I haven’t read any Rainbow Rowell’s books but plan to do so. I agree with you on ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ and ‘Looking for Alaska’. I finish the latter last weekend and overall I enjoyed it so much more than TFIOS.

Leave a Reply

