Top Ten Tuesday (25)

One of the (many) things I love about books is where they’re set. Not always the country, but just the place, whether it be a house on the prairie or in a submarine in the Atlantic Ocean. I also do love hearing about countries, because the only place I have been to is South Africa (where I was born) and of course here (Australia), where I live. BUT, I live in Victoria, which is the (mostly) non-bush part of Australia, so hearing about that is super interesting/cool too.

wrestleddingoesandkangas

This weeks Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by the Broke and the Bookish) is a list on Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit (whether fictional or real), which I did a variation on way back when, when the topic was a ‘pick your own ttt’. I’m going to re-do the list, because a) I’d like to see if I’ve changed, b) how I’ve changed and c) I wouldn’t give up a chance to make a list!

tttTen Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit (whether fictional or real)
1. Hogwarts + surroundings (Harry Potter series)
The Golden Trio, along with their friends, enemies, challenges, embarrassing moments and various family members were a MASSIVE part of my childhood. I would LOVE LOVE to visit the place where it all started (and ended for some). I know the set of Hogwarts is in Scotland, but when I finally (one day) go to England, it would make my life if I was able to go on the Harry Potter tour (which they better still be holding)!
2. Paris (Anna and the French Kiss)
YES. YES!! I am so excited to one day walk around Paris like Anna did (preferably with someone like Etienne, but I’m not too fussy 😉 ). The city sounds amazing and, people it’s the LAND OF CROISSANTS!

dancingcroissant3. Kismet Cafe (Isla and the Happily Ever After)
As you can probably gather, I am quite obsessed with Stephanie Perkins’ series. The cafe that Josh and Isla first meet at sounds magical (and maybe I would see some of Josh’s drawings on the wall??) I really like the name – kismet – which means fate or destiny in Hebrew or Arabic (I think). I’m not hugely into fate or destiny, I just think it’s a pretty word.
4. The Capitol (The Hunger Games series)
ALL THE COSTUMES. AND THE COLOUR. AND THE MAKE-UP. I love looking at how people dress (I myself dress like I have grabbed the first thing I see (which sometimes I do), and being in The Capitol would be SO AWESOME.

effie
5. Ireland (A Taste For It)
This novel (and some of Monica McInerney’s other books too) are set in Ireland and make it sound so amazing. I wanted to go there before I read the books, but there are rolling green hills and it just sounds so so beautiful.
6. The Institute (Mortal Instruments series)
This would be BEAUTIFUL. I really really want to visit the library, but I would also be happy to visit the whole church and explore each room, nook and cranny.
7. China (Mao’s Last Dancer)
My sister has been to China and the photos look amazing. I would like to go all over (i.e. the main cities like Shanghai) but also visit regional places, because they’re not as crowed and tourist-y (although I would be adding to that touristy number).

maos
8. Amsterdam (The Fault in Our Stars)
Bridges! And water! Amsterdam feels like it’s an old city, subtly incorporating bits of the 21st century into it. It’s so pretty and it almost seems unrealistic; like a city living on water.
9. The Cinema (The Thief Lord)
I would love to see where the kids lived for a bit AND PLUS THIS IS IN VENICE, which has been my number one destination since I can remember. I’ve always thought it was amazing that the whole city sort of just floated on water (which I know it technically doesn’t, but it seems like it) and I really want to ride on a gondola.

venicegondola
10. The Hundred Acre Wood (A. A. Milne)
Yes I am a child. I devoured Winnie the Pooh as a child and would love to visit the place where it all happened. I don’t know if it’s a real place or if it’s based on a real place or if it’s just ficition?

winniehundredacrewood

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday (25)

  1. eisyasofia says:

    Hi. I studied at Monash U 10 years ago & visited Cape Town during the World Cup & Amsterdam 2 years ago. When I watched TFIOS, that Anne Frank’s house scene was like walking down memory lane.
    😀 Anyway great list. I’d love to visit Hogwarts too. I thought about Ireland because of PS I Love You but in the end, used another book.
    You could check out my list here. http://ssreaderscorner.wordpress.com/2014/10/14/ten-places-books-have-made-me-want-to-visit/

    • I’m so jealous – I didn’t get the chance to be in Cape Town during the world cup but the photos looked amazing! I was there for the cricket world cup (10 or so years ago??), but was so young and don’t remember much. Ohh, I love PS. I Love You!! Thanks for linking me to your ttt 🙂

Leave a Reply

