Beautiful Books #1

I know this is from last month (October), but I am always very behind on these and I thought it’d be fun to do! I might get things done late, but they will always eventually get done – no promises on the timeline though!

But I am joining up with an original meme hosted by Cait from The Notebook Sisters and Sky from Further Up and Further In. This month (and I think for the next three months), in conjunction with NaNoWriMo, the girls have devised Beautiful Books, so people can learn about the books being created for NaNo (BUT, we can also complete this meme, even if we aren’t doing NaNo, which I am not). So, here goes!

beautifulbooks

1. What came first: characters or plot idea? Are you a plotter or a pantser?
For my current novel, the idea came first and then the characters. I developed the idea from a short story I wrote in year ten for an oral I had to do. It only had one character, but the idea was there, so I just expanded her world. I’m definitely half-half! I plan some, and then leave random bits unplanned, hoping I’ll eventually get there and just fill the gap in as I go.

pantser

2. Do you have a title and/or a “back-cover-blurb”?
I have a working title – Running the Dream – but that was from the original short so I have to change it (because it’s not relevant anymore). I don’t have a back-cover-blurb (yet), because I haven’t learnt the art of succinctly summarising an entire book (but that’s probably what the holidays are for).

3. What wordcount are you aiming for when your novel is finished?
Finished (what a lovely word)! I’m aiming for 50k or above, because in my head, 50k symbolises a novel as a ‘novel’; which I guess I got from NaNo.

4. Sum up your novel in 3 sentences.
Kate has cancer.
She starts receiving weird texts.
Dylan and also life in general.

weirdtexts

5. Sum up your characters in one word each.
Kate: Passionate
Dylan: Energetic
‘Jack’: Unknown

6.Which character are you most excited to write? Tell us about them!
Kate narrates the novel and I really enjoy writing her, but my favourite is Dylan! He’s got this frenetic energy surrounding him at all times and I really like his curiousity for people and the world around him.

7. What about your villain? Who is he, what is his goal?
Well, it’s a contemporary, so there’s no actual villain, but if I HAD to pick something, it’d be the cancer. And the cancer’s goal, I guess, is overtake Kate’s cells and, in the end, kill her. (It’s a pretty rude villain).

8. What is your protagonist’s goal? And what stands in the way?
Kate’s goal is to live her life normally and as cancer free as possible, which is hard, since it is indeed the very cancer itself that stands in her way

9. What inciting incident begins your protagonist’s journey?
A text from an unknown number. She replies and it goes from there.

10. Where is your novel set?
Kate’s house, the hospital, various flashblacks; all taking place in Melbourne, Australia.

hospital

11. What are three big scenes in your novel that change the game completely?
– Kate meeting Dylan
– Jack and the meaning he brings
– The ending (no spoilers!)

12. What is the most dynamic relationship your character has? Who else do they come in contact with or become close to during the story?
She doesn’t really have any dynamic relationships. All her her previous friends are long gone, and the relationship with her parents is a good one; it’s just that it mostly revolves around her cancer, and not parent-child things. Her relationship with Dylan changes the whole ‘no friends’ things and they become quite close.

13. How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?
I think she learns a lot about herself, and the way to people. She learns how to work through life, with friends, hills and cancer included. She learns about relationships and earns herself friends along the way.

hillnowisgood

14. Do you have an ending in mind, or do you plan to see what happens?
I have an ending in mind. So far, I haven’t changed my mind about it (which is pretty impressive, since I change my mind about EVERYTHING), but I won’t know until I get there.

15. What are your hopes and dreams for your book? What impressions are you hoping this novel will leave on your readers and yourself?
To finish it would be absolutely amazing. I’ve never written more than 10,000 words on something, let alone a (hopefully) 50k + novel. I don’t think it’ll go anywhere (after I’m done), but it’ll forever be my first draft/novel, and a girl can dream!

ivegotadream

This entry was posted in Beautiful Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

