Read//Watch//Listen (1)

Maybe I’ll make these (semi) regular posts (or maybe not. My track record pretty much sucks). But I’d like to start something as of this moment to show the things that I am reading/listening/watching to the day/week/time that I post this. It could be anything from a podcast to an article I read on a website; or just the book I’m currently reading and the CD I’m obsessed with.

catDJ

I’m currently not reading anything, but tonight, I was going through my phone photos/screenshots and collating all the quotes* I’d collected since the last time I uploaded my photos to my laptop. Here are a couple of my favourites out of the twenty or so that I collected:

An eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind (Gandhi)

That’s one of the great things about music. You can sing a song to 85, 000 people and they’ll sing back for 85, 000 different reasons (Dave Grohl)

[The human condition] can be described as the unalterable part of humanity that is inherent and innate to human beings and not dependent on factors such as gender, race, culture, or class. It includes concerns such as the meaning of life, the search for gratification, the sense of curiosity, the inevitability of isolation, and the awareness of the inescapability of death (Wikipedia)

When an apple ripens and falls, what makes it fall? It is that it is attracted to the ground, is it that the stem withers, is it that the sun has dried up, that is has grown heavier, that the wind shakes it, that the boy standing underneath it wants to eat it? No one things is the cause (Leo Tolstoy)

The cruelest thing of all is false hope

joeylalala

I just finished listening to Serial (http://serialpodcast.org, or you can download from iTunes), a podcast hosted by Sarah Koenig (This American Life), in which she takes us (the audience) through the real-life murder of Hae Min Lee of Baltimore and the conviction of her ex-boyfriend (then 17 year old) Adnan Syaad. Koenig is a brilliant speaker, and when the episodes were released, they were released once a week for 12 weeks (well, 13 actually, because Thanksgiving week was skipped), but since I was super behind on listening, I had all the episodes banked up. Each episode focuses on different things from the case; the good, the bad, and the ugly. I HIGHLY highly recommend listening to this podcast because it is interesting, excellently presented AND I would love to know people’s thoughts on a) who do you think murdered Hae Min and b) what do you think of this podcast?

Song wise, I am OBSESSED with Home (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LzPPAw5tnqs) (Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros), largely thanks to the cover that Glee (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ec1XK9BJl0) did on their episode this week.

Also from my phone, I saw a link I had screenshotted to a slam poetry video called Boobs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pi7Vss4GYks). I LOVE slam/button poetry and this one is no exception. It’s BRILLIANT and amazing and beautifully written and performed.

tvallday

I just starting watching Glee again (because it has FINALLY returned from its SUPER long hiatus), and last night I saw Paper Planes, which is a super super cute (Australian) movie, starring Ed Oxenbald (David from Puberty Blues) and Sam Worthington (I think he’s in Avatar??). But anyway, Paper Planes was an adorable movie that would definitely suit people of all ages (probably the first G movie I’ve seen since I was ‘G aged’)!

Thoughts/comments/queries??

*They’re not necessarily quotes, per say; they’re more like a collection of sentences/paragraphs.

This entry was posted in Read//watch//listen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

