Number Crunch (2)|NY Resolutions

Because I finished year 12 exams in November, that felt like the ‘end’ for me. It felt like I was finally done with everything that had become representative of 2015: school, SACs, exams, STRESS. But, of course, we still had two months to go – and here we are: at the real end of the year. Because I had no school or part-time job to keep track of the days for me, everyday of the week just blended into one and through the jumble of days, I feel like I’ve stumbled (rather ungraciously) onto the new year.

It’s been a big year – mostly because of year 12, where I found out a lot about myself: friendships, how to work well, my limits, what I really value. I also started writing again: I’m planning a new novel (here’s to me actually sticking to something).

Once again, I have listed and counted my year into figures because what is a better way to organise everything?

2015 IN NUMBERS:

BOOKS:

  • This year I read 61 books (which is low, but bloody year 12 took up most of my time and then I procrastinated with Netflix watching) – which brings me up to 871 books since I started recording (2/3/2008).
  • Once again, I read 0 books where the author’s name was Lauren.
  • My first book of the year was Amy Zhang’s Falling into Place (read 4/01/2015) and my last book (read yesterday), was Fiona Wood’s Cloudwish.
  • I acquired approximately 20 books, mostly that I bought
  • I FOUND A NEW FAVOURITE BOOK – I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN (JANDY NELSON)
  • New favourite (current) series: Illuminae – Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (also favourite ‘picture’ book)
  • ELLIE MARNEY’S EVERY BREATH SERIES ENDED AND IT WAS SO GOOD BUT I was sad because it finished (waiting impatiently for Harris’ book :)) )
  • Special mentions: The Book Thief – Markus Zusak (FINALLY got around to reading it and it was amazing, as promised); Simon vs. the Homo Sapien Agenda Becky Albertali (cute, cute and adorable); Everything Leads to You – Nina LaCour (beautiful writing, adorable, f/f romance and amazing JOB!!)
  • I got really into Colleen Hoover and Katie McGarry, who I plan to read heaps of next year.
  • Books I own and have been meaning to read but haven’t (yet):
    – Carry On – Rainbow Rowell
    – Pieces of Sky – Trinity Doyle
    – Friday Brown
    – Vicki Wakefield
    – The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B
    – Teresa Toten (this got amazing reviews, but I just couldn’t get into it, but I definitely want to try again).

MOVIES:

  • This year I watched (only) 53 movies – most of them I’d already seen, and there’s also some I watched many times (i.e. my year 12 media films)
  • I watched The Hunger Games 4 times and Children of Men 3 times (with multiple snippet watching for both of them)
  • My favourite films were Holding the Man, The Dressmaker (both Australian funnily enough) and Mommy (which is brilliant brilliant brilliant!!)
  • Bravetown was a fun contemporary romance; Ask Me Anything was weird/a bit freaky; and That Sugar Film was very confronting/scary.

TV:

  • I currently watch 7 shows a week (Grey’s Anatomy, Bones, Castle, How to get away with murder, Chicago PD, Chicago Med, Chicago Fire) Please Like Me and Winners and Losers when they’re on.
  • I started and finished an entire series of The Mentalist this year. I also watched (the one and only season of): Marvel’s Jessica Jones and Sense8
  • As of the end of this year, I have finished 4 entire TV series that have stopped production (i.e. I have watched everything made for these TV shows): F.R.I.E.ND.S, The Mentalist, Puberty Blues and My Mad Fat Diary
  • I am only watching one show at the moment that has finished production and I have not finished watching it: House, M.D.

 

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS:
I never write down my NY resolutions and then I can just pretend they’re not there. But this year I’m choosing achievable things (I think), and will hopefully make good on some of them:
1. Drink less juice
2. Get a job (v. important)
3. Go travelling (also v. important)
4. Start/finish my novel (WHO CARES HOW LONG IT TAKES. IF YOU’RE STILL WRITING on this day next year just to get it done, good, then at least you’ve written it).
5. Read 100 books
6. See some foreign films
7. Go to at least one concert

This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Number Crunch (2)|NY Resolutions

  1. HOW GOOD IS EVERYTHING LEADS TO YOU, THOUGH?

    Also, these are fabulous goals ❤ I definitely want to hear all about your travelling. Where do you think you're headed??

    • I KNOW!!! At first I was like mmm, what is this hype, but as it progressed I JUST WANTED TO HUG THE BOOK FOR FOREVER ❤ I want to go to Europe, mostly around the Western side and also Ireland, England, Scotland, Israel. My friend wants to go to America – New York, and then we'll probably go the places we have people to stay at 😛 But of course, everything hinges on the $$

Leave a Reply

