Read//Watch//Listen (5)

read.watch.play.jpg

READ

I’m actually overseas at the moment, so, although I thought I would have heaps of time for reading, my mom and I are being real tourist-y and trying to squeeze in a lot of things before we leave. I brought 10 books with (and also purchased one with a book voucher from my granny <3), and my great plan was to read them all – because they’re (mostly) my own books I’ve been meaning to read for a long time but never got around to because of library book due dates (but I don’t think my plan in going to eventuate).

Since I’ve been here, I’ve read:
1. Paperweight (Mag Haston). I’d been looking forward to this for ages, and had bought it with my own book voucher and it was pretty incredible.
2. The Sky is Everywhere (Jandy Nelson)I’ll Give You The Sun is my favourite book, BUT this was quite good and I enjoyed the illustrations (and could even seen the burgeoning growths of IGYTS.
3. The Sidekicks 
(Will Kostakis). I had high expectations for this, and it’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it, but for me it didn’t live up to the hype. I only enjoyed reading from Ryan’s POV (and the end of Miles’), but mainly the other characters (especially Harley), kinda annoyed me. I understand that everyone deals with grief different ways, and I appreciate how that was shown, but I didn’t connect with Harley and Miles very much.
4. Pieces of Sky (Trinity Doyle). I’ve had this book for ages and I’m SO GLAD I finally read it. It was bloody great and I didn’t want it to end!!!

sky.gif
I am currently reading Notes From the The Teenage Underground (Simmone Howell), which I’m not very far into, but sorta struggling because it’s a lil different to what I usually read in terms of time period my usual OzYA is set; i.e. I think it’s set in the 90s?? But it’s just taking some getting used to – I think I’ll end up liking it!

WATCH

I am unfortunately not up to date on my TV shows because of lack of internet. It’s kinda nice to have a break (and I miss all the spoilers because of the time difference), but I also definitely miss them. Not watching things has also meant bedtime is earlier because often at home I watch something to keep myself up until it’s an acceptable time for bed. I’m basically 100 years old.

LISTEN

I’m too lazy to figure out how to tune the radio in our car to good radio stations here -there’s an Afrikaans one, but who knows what they’re saying??

The car used to belong to my grandpa who loved classical music, so I think I’ve listened to more classical music this last week and a half (and will be for the next week) than I have in my whole life (my favourite is the Tchaikovsky CD, which includes the only songs I know in his entire collection: Swan Lake and Fur Elise). (Romantic Piano Favourites is a close second).

violin-cat-o

 

This entry was posted in Read//watch//listen and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

