Number Crunch (3)

2016 has been a big year. It was my first year in 13 years that I didn’t have school (or uni) commitments. I could almost do whatever I wanted whenever I wanted and I spent a lot of time at the beginning doing just that. I loved the freedom that no routine brought, and during that time I learnt more about how I was as a person.

This year I’ve done a lot of travelling: I went to South Africa in April/May with my mom (to see family) and then went travelling for 4 months with my friend from July-November. My trip was incredible (I did a series of blog posts if you wanna read about it); and I can’t wait to go on the next one.

Being away from home for such an extended period of time with only Skype and Instant Message to keep in touch forced me to figure out how to manage with problems by myself. I think I became more confident overseas, and learnt more about myself as a person and how I interact with others.

Once again I have summed up my year using numbers. Have a look down below to see the number of books, films and TV shows I have spent too much time on this year:

BOOKS:
61 books in 2016 (same as last year!)
932 since I started recording in 2/3/2008

TOP 5: 
– Summer Skin (new favourite) – Kirsty Eager (I did a review on it – NOT spoiler free, so read at your own risk)
– Frankie – Shivaun Plozza (#loveOzYA represent!!)
– The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson
– Saint Anything – Sarah Dessen (My favourite Sarah Dessen so far <3)
– Pieces of Sky – Trinity Doyle (this has been on my TBR for about 2 years, and I finally read it and really loved it!)

  • Once again the books that I listed at the end of last year’s summary are still there for me to read (excluding Pieces of Me):
    – Carry On – Rainbow Rowell
    – Friday Brown – Vicki Wakefield
    – The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B
  • I’m still behind on reading 2016 releases (as usual), but I went to the Centre for Youth Literature’s 2017 #YAshowcase, and heard about so many incredible 2017 releases. You can hear about my Top 5 (and Diem’s) from our Bookish Friends podcast episode where recapped the event.

MOVIES:
64 films overall (11 more than last year!)

TOP 5:
Hunt for the Wilderpeople (definitely my favourite of the year – hilarious, very clever and beautiful cinematography)
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them (I loved loved loved being back in the Harry Potter universe – with everything magic. The beasts were incredible and Eddie Redmayne as Newt was spectacular)

fantastic beasts gif.gif
La La Land (Excellent music, acting and storyline. It was so whimsical and lovely and I could watch it over and over (I have seen it twice and am listening to the soundtrack as I type this))
Standford Prison Experiment (If you get the chance to see this I highly recommend! It stars Ezra Miller and is based on a true story (from Wikipedia): “The Stanford Prison Experiment was an attempt to investigate the psychological effects of perceived power, focusing on the struggle between prisoners and prison guards“)
False Flag (this was 8 episodes of a TV show shown back to back. I saw it at JIFF*, and it reminded me of HTGAWM – you didn’t know who was going to betray whom next. From Wikipedia: “It involves five ordinary Israelis who wake up one morning and discover that their names, faces, and personal details have been splashed across the world’s media on suspicion of involvement in a high-profile kidnapping.
Honourable mentions: Spotlight, The People Vs. Fritz Bauer and Room

room film gif.gif

From Room

TV SHOWS:
Currently watching: 
Homeland
(Started already)Waiting to come back:
– Bones (one more season to go!),
– Please Like Me,
– How to Get Away with Murder,
– Chicago Med/PD/Fire,
– Sense8 (
The Christmas episode was excellent),
– Orange is the New Black,
– Marvel’s Jessica Jones,
– Grey’s Anatomy,
– This is Us (n
ewly started)
– Top of the Lake (newly started and finished, but apparently they’re making another season which is exciting!)
Waiting: Chicago Justice
Finished: House (finally!!) and Castle (where I wrote a thank you post to the show)
Need to finish: Winners and Losers

Next year I start uni, which I’m pretty excited for. I’m doing a Bachelor of Arts and my chosen subjects are: Human Geography, Media and Society, Bioethics and Journalism. They’re all English-arts related (which I love), and I’m so ready to start learning again.

Here’s to an excellent 2017!!!

 

 

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

